Reach – S Club 7

Link to song

Yet again, back to my 90’s roots! Recently, I’ve gotten back into re-listening to all my favourite childhood songs and it’s given me a whole new appreciation for the songs as a whole. As cheesy as it is, I still love S Club 7 probably about as much as I did when I was little. What’s not to love about upbeat pop that just makes you want to get up and dance??

But on this particular day, when the sun is shining and I have been trawling through a mountain of work since 9am this morning, I can really appreciate anything that will out a pep in my step, and this happens to be it!

Rather than it getting me down, I feel super invigorated by how productive I am being! Everything feels like it is taking longer than it should and I am not sure when I am going to get to finish up but it’s all in aid of helping me to achieve my goals. I am just that much closer to getting where I want to be because I am completing these tasks.

Sometimes, that is all it takes. When you feel unmotivated or apathetic, or even when you don’t, it is great to look at the bigger picture and see how you are contributing to achievements on various scales.

For instance, starting small, I’m doing preparation for my dissertation because I want to get a good grade in my MA. Why do I want a good grade in my MA? Because that will allow me to have a greater chance of getting into a career that I love. Why do I want a career that I love? So that I can be happy and earn a decent wage to pay for all of the things that I deserve to have in my future. It all adds up. Right now it feels like an endless serious of labour which, although I enjoy it in itself, feels rather draining at times. But knowing that I am staying on track to achieve everything that I have set out to do? Well, that’s amazing!

In five years time, I’m sure I’ll be much more grateful for the days that I spent slaving away working than the days where I slobbed around doing nothing. Every piece of work is a step up the ladder of success, or at least that’s how I’m choosing to view it! I guess the best thing about 90’s pop is how overly optimistic it is, and how infuriatingly contagious!

And whilst I keep climbing and succeeding, I’ll play ‘Reach’ on repeat as the soundtrack to my happiness!

Leave a Reply

