It’s My Life – Bon Jovi

Link to song

Recently, as cliché as it might sound, I have really become interested in the idea of living ‘in the moment’. I have tried a lot of mindfulness activities over the years to try and reduce my stress levels, and to be honest, they have not helped very much. But in the last couple of weeks, I have discovered an app called Happify. You can take a test when you download it and it can help you to do activities to target certain aspects of your life. I have been doing some to help me to feel more relaxed, and it is working. I now take more time to slow myself down, to prioritise and spread out my to-do lists, and appreciate the little happy moments in my day-to-day life.

That is where this song comes in. I have loved Bon Jovi for years, and I always had a special affinity with this song, but now it has become stronger. As I grow as a person and take control of my own life, the lyrics of this song have reached out to me. I hadn’t listened to it in so long, but a few days ago on my way to university, I put it on and I had to stop myself singing along happily as I walked down the street.

The song isn’t about living in the moment, but it is about making the most of what you have got in the here and now. Do what you can, because you never know what might happen, good or bad. When you start taking responsibility for your own happiness, it really helps. By learning to value simple moments every day, I have achieved the goal of becoming less stressed. On some days, it is only those 5 or 10 minutes where I can forget that I have deadlines looming or chores piling up, but that is 5 or 10 minutes that I would not otherwise have had.

I work hard to get the things that I want, I always have, but I am always pushing myself onto the next goal. Once I got my degree, did I take a few moments to savour my 3 years of hard work? No. I immediately begun studying for my MA. And it is that kind of thinking that I has led me to breaking point before. It is only now that I have started to realise that enough is enough. I guess what I have learnt is that it is my life, and I can choose how I want to live it. And I know that I am infinitely better for it.

Leave a Reply

