Helena – My Chemical Romance

Link to song

My Chemical Romance are my favourite band of all time, for a number of reasons (along with The Smiths, of course). So choosing which song to talk about was very difficult, because a lot of their songs speak to me for so many different reasons. They are all important to me in their own way. But in the end, I suppose Helena was the natural choice.

This was the first song by My Chem that I ever heard. I was introduced to it by my best friend at the time when I was 12 years old. The first time I listened to it, I was confused. It made me feel, I related to it, in a way that music had never done for me before. I thought music was just something nice to listen to and that was it. But this was completely different. My body, my mind and my soul felt the music, I felt every single lyric and it was a pretty transcendent experience to be honest. After one listen it became my favourite song. I listened to it 200 times or so that night after my friend showed it to me. It is the song that made me fall in love with music.

I watched the music video and I was simply awed. Awed by how much I admired the band and their style and everything. From then on, I became instantly obsessed with My Chem and everything about them. They were the first celebrities that I suppose I ‘fangirled’ over. I wanted to know everything about them and buy all the merch etc.

But it was more than that, and it still is. I still love them and love their music but the main thing that has always stuck with me is their message. They get misinterpreted a lot. Many bands of that genre do. When I started listening to them I was told that I should stop, and that listening to them was bad because they promoted suicide and all the usual cliches like that. Which couldn’t be further from the truth. I liked listening to them because as a typical angsty teenager with the whole world on her shoulders, I felt comforted by their music and being told not to give up. It was nice to have music that I felt understood me when I thought no-one else did. MCR helped me to find myself.

They were the role models that nobody was willing to accept; they cared about and helped their fans and it gave me hope when I struggled. I told Gerard Way so when I met him, and I am eternally grateful that I got the opportunity to tell my idol how much he had done for me. Helena still gives me goosebumps whenever I listen to it, and I know that it always will. My Chemical Romance changed my life, and I will forever be indebted to them for it.

Leave a Reply

