Let Me Fall – Idina Menzel

Link to song

I think this song is beautiful, and so inspirational. Whether I am going through a dark period or even if things are okay, this song can still perk me up and brighten my mood. Idina Menzel in general tends to brighten my mood to be honest; she is a beautiful lady with a beautiful singing voice. I identify with several of her songs but I particularly like ‘Let Me Fall’ because it taught me a lot of things about myself.

Until very recently, I always blamed myself for everything; and I mean EVERYTHING. Any little thing that went wrong, I replayed the scenario over and over and wondered what I had said, what I had done, what I should have done differently. I know a lot of people who are the same; people who would rather blame themselves than admit that the people that they care about have faults. But eventually I learned that some things are just not under my control, or sometimes under anyone else’s either. Things do go wrong, life can be unfair, but when it happens now I try hard to pick myself back up and start again. It’s all an experience. Even if there was something I could have done differently, at least I know for next time. Nobody is perfect, and nobody should expect anybody else to be perfect; to be human is to be flawed.

And that is absolutely 100% okay. As long as you are trying your best and achieving what you want to achieve, then you are winning. Life is tough, but (as the cliché goes) it is for living, and I have found that I cannot live life to the full when I am constantly down and worrying about things that happened way back when.

Sometimes I think you have to be knocked down to prove how strong you are by getting back up. It’s not nice and it isn’t easy, but it has made me a better person. I have life experience and even things to put on my CV, simply because I worked through the things that I found hard. I have struggled and fought and cried over things, sometimes I win and sometimes I lose. But it all made me the person that I am today; someone that I am incredibly proud of.

know how difficult it is to get out of a rut, to keep on fighting and spend every last ounce of energy. Whether it’s a school project, a job interview, or even something as simple as getting out of bed and facing the day. But I can guarantee that it is worth it. When you get out of the darkness and you come back fighting, you will have made a good decision. Let yourself fall, and see how much stronger you can become.

Leave a Reply

