A Thousand Years – John Barrowman

Link to song

John Barrowman’s singing brings a joy to my heart which I simply cannot describe. I know that this is a cover, but this version in particular is important to me for several reasons: firstly, that for a while I was not even aware of who it was a cover of, and secondly, this version taught me something very important about my relationship.

When I first began dating my partner, a lot changed for me. I am a very private person, I value my studies and my alone time, and I had to adapt to accommodate someone new into my life. I have always struggled becoming close to people, I don’t trust easily and these are not the best qualities to possess when entering a new relationship. But I settled into it and everything became much better. Suddenly, every love song brought a smile to my face and my listening habits began to differ. One of the songs that I began listening to a lot was A Thousand Years.

I liked the sound of it, I liked the way John Barrowman sung it and I loved the message. But as with any relatively new romance, I don’t think I fully understood the message. That was until about 5 months into our relationship. I had booked tickets to go and see John Barrowman perform live with my mother in London. Me and my partner had been separated before, but for some reason the idea of being away from him as the concert was approaching filled me with utter sadness.

But I went anyway, and I enjoyed myself as I knew I would. But what I was not expecting was to cry the whole way through his performance of A Thousand Years. And I did. As soon as that music began playing, my heart stopped and tears sprang to my eyes, and I sang along with every word pulsing through my blood. I was really living it. I finally understood it. We got home and I rang my partner and I told him I loved him and I missed him with a conviction that I had never experienced before. And I think from that moment everything changed.

I started planning for the long term instead of the short term. I imagined what we would be doing in two years time as opposed to two weeks. As the song says ‘I will not let anything take away what’s standing in front of me’.

And I didn’t; me and my fiancé have a long future ahead of us, hopefully a thousand years or more…

One thought on “A Thousand Years – John Barrowman

Leave a Reply

